Plotinus in the Jungle

Home » Uncategorized » Happy Birthday Pop-pop!

Happy Birthday Pop-pop!

Today (2/11/15) is my grandfather’s birthday.  I believe that he is 93 years old!  Since I cannot be there to celebrate with him, I’ve assembled some pictures of us together, including some highlights of the trip I took with him to Israel in 2006!

My maternal grandparents have been a constant and supportive presence my whole life.  They used to babysit me when I was a child.  I have very fond memories of spending time with my Pop-pop – hiking the local stream together, working in his gardens, playing croquet and boardgames, and celebrating holidays together.  So happy birthday from across the globe, Pop-pop.  We miss you!  Your affability, generosity, and good humor have always been a wonderful model for me to try to emulate.

 

At my undergraduate graduation party - Valley Forge, PA

At my undergraduate graduation party – Valley Forge, PA

Pop-pop volunteers at the soup kitchen I worked at in Baltimore 2005-2006.

Pop-pop volunteers at the soup kitchen I worked at in Baltimore 2005-2006.

brandon's 23rd birthday

Pop-pop helps me blow out my candles at my 23rd birthday party! Baltimore.

At the wailing wall in Jerusalem.

At the wailing wall in Jerusalem.

The Garden of Gethsemane

The Garden of Gethsemane

Lazarus's Tomb!

Lazarus’s Tomb!

???????????????????????????????

At the sport where Jesus wept for Jerusalem.

At the sport where Jesus wept for Jerusalem.

???????????????????????????????

Near the Church of the crowing rooster! Jerusalem.

???????????????????????????????

 

Inside the Church of the Holy Sepuchre, a massive church that covers Golgotha and Christ's burial site.  This is the entrance to Christ's tomb.

Inside the Church of the Holy Sepuchre, a massive church that covers Golgotha and Christ’s burial site. This is the entrance to Christ’s tomb.

???????????????????????????????

self-explanatory

On a boat in the Sea of Galilee with two fellow pilgrims.

On a boat in the Sea of Galilee with two fellow pilgrims.

In the Judaean Wilderness

In the Judaean Wilderness

???????????????????????????????

At the Dead Sea.  I went swimming.

At the Dead Sea. I went swimming.

The grandparents at my wedding.

The grandparents at my wedding.

Blowing bubbles at my wedding

Blowing bubbles at my wedding

Pop-pop's 90th birthday party

Pop-pop’s 90th birthday party

Anastasia watching golf with Pop-pop.

Anastasia watching golf with Pop-pop.

 

Celebrating Rowan's baptism.

Celebrating Rowan’s baptism.

Annie's first birthday party

Annie’s first birthday party

 

Our goodbye party - Takoma Park, MD.

Our goodbye party – Takoma Park, MD.

Tabitha and her great-grandfather PopPop

Tabitha and her great-grandfather PopPop

Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Support our Ministry

Blogging Abroad

