Plotinus in the Jungle

Home » Adventures in PNG » Climbing Mountains with Anastasia – Part 2 Mt Elbert

Climbing Mountains with Anastasia – Part 2 Mt Elbert

While we were in the US, I made for myself the opportunity to climb Mt. Elbert, the tallest point in CO. Climbing the highpoints in the lower 48 is a life goal of mine, though I only count highpoints that one has to hike to – not the ones that are beauty schools (Ohio) or a trailer park (DE) or a place along the road (RI). So far I’ve hiked MD, VA, WV, PA, CT, NH, ME, MA, MO, and NJ, and failed to summit NM!
During our stay in CO, Annie, Ross (CC’s brother), Alan (CC’s father), and I tackled Elbert. According to my research, Elbert was said to be climbable with anyone of modest fitness. Either I am deceived about myself, or CO has a different understanding of fitness than the East Coast . . .

We left late in the day Sunday and stayed at a small hotel in Leadville, CO. The drive through the Rockies was beautiful. Due in part to time spent looking for a place to buy proper hiking socks for me, we got in late and left the hotel around 5 am, well before the complimentary breakfast. Ross did a great job of finding the trailhead and his truck was able to handle the dirt roads so we were able to start two miles further up the mountain at the upper trailhead.

Breakfast munchies at the trailhead.

IMG_2821

The beginning.  Yes – I carried Annie up in old, too small Ergo carrier!

IMG_2822

Getting near the tree line.

The first part of the hike was a pleasant forest walk, but the attitude was soon kicking the butt of Alan and I myself.  We had to stop every 100 yards or so and catch our breath.  Ross, being secretly a CO native since before time began, was fine.

The second part of the hike was through beautiful alpine meadow, with the views growing steadily more spectacular!

IMG_2845

The area near the trailhead is known as Twin Lakes, which just made me think of Twin Peaks the whole trip . . .

IMG_2824

The mountain abounded with small, beautiful flowers.

IMG_2828

Annie likes mountains.

IMG_2844

One of our many breathers . . .

IMG_2847

I enjoyed the juxtaposition of giant and tiny beauties.

For Alan, the spirit was willing, but not the flesh.  It soon became apparent that if we all stuck together, then we would not make it up and down the mountain before nightfall.  Ross very kindly agreed to stay with Alan near the transition between the grasslands and the rock fields.  Annie and I trudged on.

IMG_2853

Alan made it to the snow!

IMG_2850

Such tough little flowers

IMG_2854

Ross, unfazed.

I felt like Samwise Gamgee going up Mt. Doom, though my vista was much more beautiful.  The third part of the mountain was rock fields with small pockets of snow.  I start meeting people who had started with us near the trailhead, summited, and were now heading down.  There was a long steep section going almost straight up, and then we cleared a false peak and came to switchbacks up to the top.  Ironically, I met a men coming down who had been all around Papua New Guinea nearly 25 years ago.  It was so strange to be chatting about snorkeling in Madang while standing by pockets of snow.

IMG_2856

Goodbye flowers . . .

IMG_2859

The way to the false peak.  I could not see my destination for most of the climb.

I tried to keep Annie cheerful by promising her that she could play in the snow once we reached the top.  She dozed off a bit as I ever so slowly slugged myself up the final ascent.  Getting to the top was probably the hardest physical challenge I’ve had in a long, long time.  In the end, it was sheer willpower.  But we made it, and Annie got to play in the snow!

IMG_2874

Someone left a helpful sing behind!

IMG_2881

Annie wishes there were snow in PNG

IMG_2879

Triumphant!

IMG_2871

Triumphant!!

IMG_2867

The snow did not hold my weight.

IMG_2889

Lots of people asked, “How did that kid get up here?”

IMG_2891

I am glad that this was not the way up . . .

Refreshed by victory, Annie and I made our way down the mountain, stopping briefly to play in more snow.  We met up with Alan and Ross and made the long walk down.  Annie probably walked about 75% of the way down.

IMG_2896

Too bad our US friends cannot ship us some snow.

We went out for dinner at a funny restaurant in Leadville – Quincy’s Steak and Spirits. It was decorated like an old Saloon and it only served steak wrapped in bacon (four different sizes) or macaroni and cheese.  We all heartily enjoyed our food, even if Annie’s was just Kraft mac and cheese.

Ross drove us all back to Denver safely.

I am very thankful for:

My brother-in-law Ross for making the trip possible and allowing me to accomplish my mountain dream.

the weather being clear all day.

Our friends Matt and Betsy Whitt, who let us stay in their house part of the time we were in Denver.

Our friends Anna and Damian Lenshek for hosting us for a few days.

Bacon.

Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Support our Ministry

Blogging Abroad

