Plotinus in the Jungle

Home » Life in PNG » Portrait of Tobiah at 13 months

Portrait of Tobiah at 13 months

Tobiah didn’t get a birthday post yet, but the anniversary of his baptism just happened, so now is as good a time as any to catch up.

I took some photos on the back porch on his birthday:

The single dimple is still killer

The single dimple is still killer

He is still devoted to his two fingers

He is still devoted to his two fingers

Taking a few steps!

Taking a few steps!

Later in the day we opened a package from his Nona.

A package commands everyone's rapt attention

A package commands everyone’s rapt attention

Opening a birthday present.

Opening a birthday present… with a giant pile of laundry in the background. 

Tobiah currently loves candles and making blowing noises. He was thrilled with our advent wreath in December. If we didn’t light it promptly he would look at it and say “pffooff! pffofff!”

a big smile for his very own candle

a big smile for his very own candle

yum yum, birthday cake

yum yum, birthday cake

birthday bath to wash off all that chocolate frosting

birthday bath to wash off all that chocolate frosting

Tobiah is an expert crawler and can get around at high speeds:

img_3375

He likes cats and dogs, especially dogs right now. All the animals in the nativity scene say “arf, arf, arf,” according to Tobiah.

with a stuffed dog Annie named Balogna when she was two

with a stuffed dog Annie named Bologna when she was two

He spends more and more time standing up or climbing on the furniture

Holding onto his bilum

Holding onto his bilum

taking more steps!

taking more steps, stumbling right towards the photographer!

His favorite messes to make are upsetting the pencils and eating the crayons, pulling out handfuls of flour and rice to fling around the kitchen, and taking down all the shoes from the shelf:

img_3507

Papua New Guineans really appreciate his social skills of waving and saying byebye and shaking hands, of which I just realized I don’t have a photo yet.

And Tobiah is somewhat catlike in his “if I fits, I sits” attitude towards boxes:

everyone loves to play with christmas present packaging

everyone loves to play with christmas present packaging

Other interests include sitting outside and poking things with sticks, flinging his sock monkey at other parishioners during mass, and eating inordinate numbers of peas.

We love you Tobiah! Happy anniversary of entering the church!

 

5 Comments

  1. aldorisrapp@gmail.com says:

    Thanks Brandon & CC for the photos of Tobiah he is so handsome he looks so much like Tabby. May 2017 be the best year for all of you. Love you, Grammy

    Like

  2. momof13 says:

    Such a cute and cheerful little guy!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

  3. Mikel E. Satcher says:

    Great Pics–the one with the birthday candle is priceless! thanks for sharing. .

    Like

  4. Matthew Dunn says:

    Summary:

    DR. MATTHEW W. I. DUNN, PH. D.
    U. S. A.
    MWIDUNN [[[AT}}} GMAIL.COM

    Position Desired:

    FACULTY (FULL TIME)

    Qualification(s):

    X PH. D. IN CATHOLIC SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY;

    X 10 YRS. OF ADJUNCT/SESSIONAL TEACHING AT CATHOLIC COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES;

    X EXPERIENCE TEACHING THEOLOGY, CHRISTIAN ETHICS, MEDICAL ETHICS, BIBLE, DEATH/DYING, WORLD RELIGIONS, AND RELIGIOUS STUDIES METHODOLOGIES;

    X EXPERIENCE TEACHING ON-LINE COURSES;

    X 4 SCHOLARLY ARTICLES PUBLISHED IN PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS;

    X ACCEPTANCE OF REQUIREMENT TO REQUEST MANDATUM FROM BISHOP;

    X ABILITY AND WILLINGNESS TO RE-LOCATE.

    MATTHEW W. I. DUNN, PH. D.
    MWIDUNN [[[AT}}} GMAIL.COM

    January 12, 2017

    To Whom It May Concern:

    Please, accept this letter and the accompanying materials as my inquiry in regards to any full-time faculty positions at your fine educational institution.

    I believe that I would be an asset to the Faculty of your fine educational institution for the following reasons:

    ╬ I hold the Ph. D. in Catholic Systematic Theology from the University of St. Michael’s College, Toronto, Ontario. It is classified as “interdisciplinary” due to the fact that Biblical Studies comprised a significant portion of the degree.

    ╬ I have an extensive academic background in the major general areas of Catholic Theology and History, namely: the Most Blessed Trinity; Christology; Ecclesiology; Christian Anthropology; the Sacraments; and, so forth. Some of these I have already taught several times as an Adjunct Instructor. Furthermore, I have taught courses in Moral Theology as well as Medical/Health Care Ethics several times.

    ╬ I believe intensely (as per the doctrine of Pope Leo XIII), that the study of Sacred Scripture should animate, or be the “soul,” of Sacred Theology. Hence, I have a wide-ranging background in modern Biblical Studies at both the Master’s and Doctoral levels. I would feel confident, therefore, in being able to contribute to the Biblically-oriented courses offered at your school. As per my C. V., I have already taught an introductory course in the Hebrew scriptures.

    ╬ The study of Religion has always been a fascination of mine. As such, I have a generalist knowledge of the beliefs and practices of the world’s “major” religions. I have also acquainted myself with various theories about Religion and the methodologies used to study it. As my C. V. also shows, I have taught Courses in “World Religions” and (more generally) in the study of Religion several times as an Adjunct Instructor.

    I LOVE THE ART OF TEACHING! I strive to make my classes interesting and relevant, while also maintaining careful and rigorous standards for myself and for my Students. Above all, I feel that patience, gentleness, mercy, and a sense of humor go a long way towards making a class beneficial to Students. I want my Students to be pleased that they chose your fine educational institution as the place for their intellectual journey.

    I frequently employ technologies like PowerPoint and the Internet during class to expose my Students to pictures, music, films, and T. V. shows, which (I feel) might aid them in understanding and appreciating a particular topic.

    I am very familiar with using the Internet for both in-class demonstrations and as an academic tool (e.g., e-mail; Moodle; Blackboard; Outlook; Panopto; etc.). As you can see from my Curriculum Vitae, I have had experience teaching Courses on-line via the Internet (viz., using Moodle or Blackboard). I maintain accounts on YouTube and Vimeo to which I often upload class lectures and other assorted media for my Students. Please, see:

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSS2eTgAYPDxJDbzCSHNqaA;

    and:

    https://vimeo.com/user53192706.

    These lectures should give you an example of my abilities as well as how I teach.

    I have had experience teaching undergraduate students of mixed genders, races, and ethnicities. Many would have appeared to have come from a “middle-class” background. They have mostly been aged in the early to mid-Twenties. They have been mostly Christians—although, typically, with little or no familiarity with the Christian Faith or with Religion in general. Nevertheless, there have been numerous instances of my having had Students of Islamic, Hindu, or Atheistic background. As part of the Education major at Felician College (Lodi, N. J.), I taught populations of women from the mid-Thirties to Fifties, who were studying for a diploma in teaching. Most were from Christian backgrounds with little or no familiarity with the study of Religion or the beliefs and practices of other religions. Most came from either impoverished, undereducated, or “difficult” backgrounds.

    I have been looking for full-time employment for several years. Over the past ten years, I have been professionally active as an Adjunct Instructor teaching at the following tertiary-level educational institutions:

    * CALDWELL UNIVERSITY (Caldwell, N. J., U. S. A.);

    * FELICIAN UNIVERSITY (Lodi, N. J., U. S. A.);

    * IONA COLLEGE (New Rochelle, N. Y., U. S. A.);

    * MARYWOOD UNIVERSITY (Scranton, Penn., U. S. A.);

    * MOUNT SAINT MARY COLLEGE (Newburgh, N. Y., U. S. A.);

    * SAINT PETER’S UNIVERSITY (Jersey City, N. J., U. S. A.); and,

    * SETON HALL UNIVERSITY (So. Orange, N. J., U. S. A.).

    Wherever I work, I try to bring a pleasant and positive demeanor to my colleagues.

    I am duly committed to further learning and to creating a viable scholarly agenda. I have already had articles published in such international, peer-reviewed journals as:

    * LOUVAIN STUDIES (Belgium);

    * JEEVADHARA (India);

    * STUDIES IN RELIGION/SCIENCES RELIGIEUSES (Canada);

    * TORONTO JOURNAL OF THEOLOGY (Canada).

    I have also had several book reviews published.

    Further relevant information about me can also be found on certain academic and work-related websites. For example, please see the following:

    https://independent.academia.edu/MatthewDunn17;

    and:

    https://www.linkedin.com/in/matthew-dunn-519206125?trk=hp-identity-name.

    From 1998 till 2000, I studied as a Candidate for the Priestly Formation Program of the Archdiocese of Newark, New Jersey (U. S. A.). As part of the Seminary’s Formation Program, I served two pastoral assignments at local parishes, living in the Rectory with the Priests and assisting them in the fulfillment of their ministerial tasks (e. g., serving at Holy Mass; bringing the Divine Eucharist to elderly “shut-in’s,” etc.). Further, during my time in the Seminary, I was officially installed into the ecclesial ministries of Reader and Acolyte.

    In 2005, I transferred canonically from the Roman Rite of the Catholic Church to the Byzantine Rite of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church. This was done with the permission of the Cardinal-Archbishop of Toronto and the Bishop of the Eparchy of Toronto and Eastern Canada.

    I try to govern my life and relationships according to the example and teachings of Our Lord Jesus Christ as proclaimed to me by the community which He established subsisting in the Catholic Church (cf. Rom 13:8–14). In my life and work, I always try to foster and maintain communion with the Pope of Rome and with those Bishops in communion with him.

    I accept the requirement of obtaining the Mandatum from the Diocesan Bishop as a condition for employment.

    I am willing to re-locate.

    I hope that you will consider me for an interview at which we can discuss my qualifications further.

    Thank you very much.

    With best regards,

    DR. MATTHEW W. I. DUNN, PH. D.
    MWIDUNN [[[AT}}} GMAIL.COM

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Dunn,
      Thank you for your inquiry! I hope you are aware that any position at Good Shepherd Seminary would require relocating to Papua New Guinea. We will be in further contact with you via email.
      best,
      Rebecca L. Zimmerman

      Like

Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Support our Ministry

